Home > SOA Methodology > Service Layers

Service Layers

When building various types of services, it becomes evident that they can be categorized depending on:

  • the type of logic they encapsulate
  • the extent of reuse potential this logic has
  • how this logic relates to existing domains within the enterprise

As a result, there are three common service classifications that represent the primary service models used in SOA projects:

The use of these service models results in the creation of logical service abstraction layers, as shown in the following figure.

Service Layers

Figure 1 - Common service abstraction layers established by service models, each of which is comprised of services shaped through the application of the service-orientation paradigm. Though these layers tend to form a natural composition hierarchy, there are no rules as to how services can be assembled. Each of these three service models is further explained in the following sections.